Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for November 8th, 2007

Bachelorette Party Ponderings.

Dictionary.com defines “bachelorette” thusly:

bach·e·lor·ette

–noun

an unmarried young woman.

[syn: bachelor girl

Dictionary.com defines “bachelor girl” thusly:

bachelor girl

–noun

an unmarried woman, esp. a young one, who supports herself and often lives alone.

[Origin: 1890–95]

 

See girl.

I have the distinct pleasure of going to a bachelor girl fete tonight.  These sorts of festivities are customarily thrown shortly before a wedding ceremony (but not the same day, not that shortly before) to celebrate the fact that a bride (in our case, Brigitte Mussack) can no longer be defined in these ways come her upcoming declaration of marriage (in our case, this Saturday at 6:49ish).


I’m not exactly sure what we’ll be doing, but we were told to dress semi-formally, so I can only assume we’re going somewhere where there is waltzing.  That or horseback riding.  Brigitte’s the bachelor girl in question, so who knows what sort of inane caution we’ll be throwing to the wind.


If I’m being honest, I’ve never actually been to a bachelorette party before*, so I don’t have a darn clue what sort of what’s what and who’s who is going to go down.  Should I be prepared with questions for the bride?  Should I ask her to explain, in detail, every last-minute task she has to perform before the ceremony?  Should I ask her embarassing questions about her fiance, Mark?  Should I ask if she has any questions for me about Mark?  After all, I have known him longer than her.  Surely this must mean I know him better.  That’s just logic, right?




Does she want pie?  Is she expecting me to bring pie?  I love Brigitte, don’t get me wrong, and I’m really excited for her upcoming nuptials, but I am not going to be able to bring pie tonight.  I don’t have time for that. I mean, I have a job.


Ben, will you be bringing pie to Mark for his bachelor boy party tonight?  Are you guys going to go horseback riding too?  It’s so cold outside.  Don’t you think they should rethink that? Do horses get cold?








*This statement is false.

Read Full Post »